55th Annual Art and Design Juried Student Exhibition

April 10 - May 6, 2023

  • Reception: Thursday, April 13, 5:30 – 7:30 pm 
  • Music by DJ Silkee
  • Artist Talk: 6:15 pm with welcoming remarks by Dr. Pam Lau, Parkland College President
  • Special hours & activities for Boneyard Arts Festival! Saturday from 12 to 4 pm, with an artist, meet & greet from 2 to 4 pm. 

 Audiences will enjoy an impressive body of student work in photography, painting, drawing, metals, sculpture, three-dimensional design, two-dimensional design, color theory, and ceramics. Parkland Art and Design faculty will select approximately 180 works from among 350+ entries for this year's exhibit. Students taking art classes in the current academic year, beginning with the summer of 2022, were eligible to submit artwork.

As students who plan on a profession in the arts begin their career path at Parkland College, this exhibition allows them to showcase their extensive talent as well as the exploration processes they have experienced throughout their studies in art and design, according to Giertz Gallery Director Lisa Costello.

The awards ceremony will recognize students whose artwork shows remarkable distinction.

Spring gallery hours are Monday through Wednesday, 10 am to 5 pm, Thursday, 10 am to 7 pm, and Saturday, 12 pm to 2 pm. 

To find the gallery, we suggest using the M6 parking lot on the north corner of the campus. Enter through Door X7, turn left, and follow the ramps uphill to the highest point of the first floor, where the gallery is located. The gallery windows overlook the outdoor pond area. 

All events in the accessible gallery are free and open to the public. Parkland College is a section 504/ADA-compliant institution. For accommodation, call 217/353-2338 or email accessibilityservices@parkland.edu.

Award Winners 

Scholarship recipients:

  • Ciaran Carr, Underwood-Alger Art Scholarship
  • Julie McCleery, Don Lake Art Scholarship
  • Kelly Hoene, Juanita Gammon Graphic Design Scholarship
  • Hannah Cole, Robert Ralph Ford Memorial Fund

Monetary awards for the Art and Design program:

  • Sophie Morgan, Parkland President's Award for Art
  • Honoka Adachi, Parkland President's Award for Design
  • Sarah Brown, Blair Kling Memorial Award
  • Ruoheng Yang, Arts, Media, and Social Sciences Department Chair Award for Excellence for Art
  • Kelly Hoenehe, Arts, Media, and Social Sciences Chair Award for Excellence for Design,
  • Alison Hernandez, Art & Design Faculty Award
  • Chloe White, Metals Award of Artistic Distinction
  • Connor Altan, The Chris Berti Award for Excellence
  • Andrew Parker, The Graphic Design Best of Show Award
  • Hope Kirby, The Art Coop Award for Sustained Studio Excellence
  • Elva Hajialiakbarifini, The Arrowmont School of Arts and Crafts Scholarship Award
  • Saxon Burns, Melissa’s Gift Comrades in Art Award
  • Ceselie Eagan, Melissa’s Gift Comrades in Art Award
  • Robin Young, The David M. and Shirley A. Jones Student Award for Art and Design

Purchase awards for artwork to be included in the Parkland College Collection went to: 

  • Connor Altan (Monticello)
  • Elyse Larsen (Champaign)
  • Holly Lewis (Paxton)
  • Kiah Thompson (Urbana)
  • Robin Young (Urbana)

Merit Awards for outstanding work: 

  • Hayden Cseve (Gibson City)
  • Roxanne Essafa (Urbana)
  • Amelia Gonzalez (Champaign)
  • Elva Hajialiakbarifini (Champaign)
  • Lisa Haynes (Mahomet)
  • Chris Johns (Champaign)
  • Melissa Merli (Urbana)
  • Israel Nguvu (Champaign)
  • Nathan Potter (River Forest)
  • Gretchen Raila (Champaign)
  • Erin Rogers (Sadorus)
  • Olaf Schwink (Longview)
  • Charlotte Thompson (Ranotul)
  • Michelle Thurber (Tuscola)
  • Fjasmine Yang (Mahomet).

Parkland students accepted into the Illinois Community College Juried Exhibition at Governors State University:

  • Sophie Morgan (Champaign)
  • Elva Hajialiakbarifini (Champaign)
  • Connor Altan (Monticello)
  • Monica Carr (Urbana)
  • Ruoheng Young (Urbana)
  • Amelia Gonzalez (Champaign)


ARCOLA: Justin Ove, Tiya Patel 

CHAMPAIGN: Honoka Adachi, Emerson Aguiar Noronha, Isaac Benson, Joelle Busby, Calla Choi, Vein Coleman, Maria Cruz, Liam Dee, Truc Do, Ceselie Eagan, Colleen Freund, Joan Gary, Amelia Gonzalez, Elva Hajialiakbarifini, Brianna Hege, Crystal Hernandez, Emma Huang, Sherell Hughes, Chris Johns, Rashmi Kapoor, Dennis Kirby, Hope Kirby, Amanda Koebernik, Elyse Larsen, Oscar Lewis, Alicia Lorenzi, Anita Manandhar, Julie McCleery, Anne McIntyre, Laszlo Meredith, Saturn Moore, Sophie Morgan, Kenneth Neff, Israel Nguvu, John Nine, Autumn Owen, Andrew Parker, Eva Pearce-Shields, Jessica Phanrana, Gretchen Raila, Douceur Samu, Ethan Simpson-Palmer, John Pointer, Sara Taber, Nadage Tadjere, Lesly Vargas, Martha Willi, Daniel Yi, Albaraa Yousef

CHENOA: Parker Hall

CHICAGO: Ayesha Saddiqa

FARMER CITY: Heather Graning, Chase Hasler

FISHER: George Schneider

GIBSON CITY: Hayden Cseve

LONGVIEW: Olaf Schwink

MAHOMET: Olivia Bresnahan, Reed Bullok, Lisa Haynes, Michaela May, Abigail McNamara, MacKenzie Petrick, Joshuah Schultz, Fjasmine Yang

MANSFIELD: Hannah Cole 

MONTICELLO: Connor Altan, Haley Baker, Ethan Brown, Bill Helferich, Laurie Rumery

NEWMAN: Sara Stutz 

NORMAL: Jaydon Rardin

ORION: Hunter Gustus

PAXTON: Holly Lewis

PHILO: Patricia Guthrie

RANTOUL: Cassandra Sosa, Jennifer Tatar, Charlotte Thompson

RIVER FOREST: Nathan Potter

SADORUS: Erin Rogers

SAVOY: Cambden Blair, Hiroko Ito 

SEYMOUR: Beth Chasco, Heather Simmons 

ST. JOSEPH: Kami Anders, Jake Juday

TERRE HAUTE: James Norton

THAWVILLE: Tyler Garecht 

TUSCOLA: Michelle Thurber 

URBANA: Nur Al-Kodmany, Julie Birdwell, Saxon Burns, Ciaran Carr, Uyen Do, Roxanne Essafa, Morgan Frush, Hayden Hartley, Alison Hernandez, Kelly Hoene, Abigael Johnson, Karis Johnson, Stephen Kaufman, Emma Larson, Cassidy McQueen, Melissa Merli, Heather Poffenberger, Kayla Reifsteck, Sharon Wenda, Dai Shi, Carol Spindel, Kiah Thompson, Chloe White, Qilin Xie, Ruoheng Yang, Robin Young 

VILLA GROVE: Sarah Brown, Christian Behrend, Kaylee-Ann Hopkins

WESTVILLE: Alexander Meister

2023 Art and Design Graduates

Associate of Fine Arts degree in Art and Design: Yarira Aguirre, Leah Alyse Brown, Liam Dee, Truc Uyen Do, Roxanne Essafa, Amelia Gonzalez, Ian Hazzard, Alison Hernandez, Jodee Hildreth, Emily Rogers, Sharon Wenda, and Ruoheng Yang

Associate of Arts and Sciences degree in Communications: Photography: Megan K. Reich and Robin E. Young

Associate of Fine Arts degree in Art Education: Hannah Cole and Sophie Morgan

Associate of Arts and Sciences degree in Graphic Design: Kelly Hoene

[Cropped image detail:  Honoka Adachi, Nishiki, ink on paper, 12 x 23 inches, 2022 ]