Art & Design Student Juried Exhibition

  • Monday, April 9–Saturday, May 5, 2018
  • Reception: Thursday, April 12, 2018, 5:30–7:30 pm
    Awards Ceremony at 6:30 pm
    Live music by the Parkland Guitar Ensemble

Audiences will enjoy an impressive body of student work in photography, painting, drawing, metals, sculpture, three-dimensional design, two-dimensional design, color theory, and ceramics. Parkland Art and Design faculty will select approximately 180 works from among 350+ entries for this year's exhibit. Students taking art classes in the current academic year, beginning with summer 2017, were eligible to submit artwork.

2018 Scholarship and Awards Winners

  • Scholarship recipients:
    Logan Ingold of Champaign, who won the Underwood-Alger Art Scholarship
    Michael Dalton of Urbana, who received the Don Lake Art Scholarship
    Bailey Bryan of Homer, winner of the Robert Ralph Ford Art Scholarship
  • Monetary awards:
    Dr. David M. and Shirley A. Jones Student Art Award for work of outstanding artistic achievement, given to Duy Le (Champaign);
    Parkland President's Award, given to Kayla McEvoy (Sadorus)
    Blair Kling Memorial Award, given to Nicole Blair (Danville)
    Fine and Applied Arts Chair Award for Excellence, given to Hyein Yang (Urbana)
    Art and Design Faculty Award, given to Matthew Thornton (Urbana)
    Metals Award of Artistic Distinction, given to Cibele Aguiar (Champaign)
    Louis Ballard Memorial Ceramics Award, given to Bailey Bryan (Homer)
    Art Coop Award, given to Justin Beck (St. Joseph)
  • Purchase awards for artwork to be included in the Parkland College Collection went to:
    Devyn Clay (Champaign)
    Liam Daly (Champaign)
    Alia Frickensmith (Champaign)
    Logan Ingold (Champaign)
    Mikhail Kogan (Champaign)
    Andres Morales-Torres (Urbana)
    Andrew Waner (Champaign)
  • Merit awards for outstanding work went to the following students:
    Brooke Armstrong (Champaign), Barlow James (Champaign), Nicole Blair (Danville), Saxon Burns (Urbana), Caressa Dillow (Bement), Allie Floreth (Champaign), Lyndsey Groth (Champaign), Chris Johns (Champaign), Rashmi Kapoor (Champaign), Stephen Kaufman (Urbana), Edwina Kugel (Champaign), Jane Liao (Champaign), Karissa Marshall (Champaign), John Nine (Champaign), Erin Rogers (Sadorus), Juan Santiago (Champaign), Heather Thomas-Winkeljohn (Champaign), Darlene Veit (Champaign), Catherine White (Champaign), Kelcey Williams (Champaign), and Meilin Zhang (Champaign).

Parkland also recognized Ixcell Vega, Anna Poindexter, Mikhail Kogan, Michael Dalton, and Joan Campagnolo for having their artwork chosen for the 2018 Illinois Community College Exhibit held at Governor's State University this spring.

The following is a full list of students with art in the juried exhibition, listed by hometown:

Arcola: Ixcell Vega
Bement: Caressa Dillow
Bismarck: Rheyse Dice
Champaign: Cibele Aguiar, Elena Anisimova, Brooke Armstrong, Ray C. Arseneau, Brett Bailen, James Barlow, Jakob Broga, Joan Campagnolo, Jackie Carrubba, Sierra Clark, Devyn Clay, Freund Colleen, Liam Daly, Katrina Durham, Devin Evans, Victor Feldman, Ariana Flores, Alexandra Floreth, Alia Frickensmith, Brianna Gaspar, Lyndsey Groth, Judy Haydel, Mudi Huang, Logan Ingold, Rayomand Irani, Waleed Jassim, Chris Johns, Eunjoo Kang, Rashmi Kapoor, Ryan Kingsley, Sydnie Klemme, Mikhail Kogan, Edwina Kugel, Duy Le, Yunyu Li, Jane Liao, Clare Margiotta, Karissa Marshall, Ramona Montez, Adrieanna Moore-Johnson, Anita Nash, Alina Neverodska, John Nine, Pavel Pourmal, Ruta Rauber, Juan Santiago, Birute Simaitis, Yoonjung Sung, Heather Thomas-Winkeljohn, Carlos Vasquez, Darlene Veit, Andrew Waner, Linda Weiner, Scott Wells, Marilyn Wendler, Catherine White, Anthony Wilczynski, Eric Wildhagen, Kelcey Williams, Sarah Wisseman, Charles Wisseman, and Meilin Zhang
Danville: Nicole Blair, George King II
Gifford: Joshua Frerichs
Homer: Bailey Bryan
LeRoy: Emma Lovellette
Mahomet: Samuel Livingston
Monticello: Nawaf Al-Khenaizi, Paige Thompson, Evan Reeder
Philo: Patricia Guthrie
Rantoul Brett Jones, Samuel Reeves
Sadorus Kayla McEvoy , Erin Rogers
Savoy: Loubna Abderrahmane, Alexis Ervin, Hiroko Ito
Sidney: Makenzie Heyen
St. Joseph: Justin Beck, Dezarae Dowers, Taura Ward
Tuscola: Haleigh Knight, Megan Quick
Urbana: Cole Aden, Brittany Bengtson, Saxon Burns, Curtis Cook, Michael Dalton, Peter Garrett, Jesse Huber, Naomi Johnson, Stephen Kaufman, Lori Kendall, Kathrine Koncel, Andres Morales-Torres, Sergio Ruiz Moreno, Cedric Smith, Matthew Thornton, Sharon Wenda, Cindy Westfall, Hyein Yang, Daniel Zhang

Merit awardees, scholarship recipients, and certificate winners retain possession of their work, while purchase awards become part of the Parkland College Student Art Collection.



Upcoming Event!

Parkland College Art & Design Open House
Thursday, April 26, from 5:30 to 7:30 pm.
> More information


For more information on the exhibit, please call the gallery office at 217/351-2485.