Art & Design Student Juried Exhibition

  • Monday, April 8–Saturday, May 4, 2019
  • Reception: Thursday, April 11, 5:30–7:30 pm
    Musical performance by the Parkland Guitar Ensemble
    Awards Ceremony at 6:30 pm

Audiences will enjoy an impressive body of student work in photography, painting, drawing, metals, sculpture, three-dimensional design, two-dimensional design, color theory, and ceramics. Parkland Art and Design faculty will select approximately 180 works from among 350+ entries for this year's exhibit. Students taking art classes in the current academic year, beginning with summer 2018, were eligible to submit artwork.

As students who plan on a profession in the arts begin their career path at Parkland College, this exhibition allows them to showcase their extensive talent as well as the exploration processes they have experienced throughout their studies in art and design, according to Giertz Gallery Director Lisa Costello.

The awards ceremony  will recognize students whose artwork shows remarkable distinction.

Congratulations to this year's award winners:


  • Matthew Thornton
    Underwood-Alger Art Scholarship, Robert Ralph Ford Art Scholarship, Jackie Taylor Scholarship
  • Kayla McEvoy
    Don Lake Art Scholarship
  • Anita Rent
    Victor Feldman Scholarship & Louie Ballard Memorial Ceramics Award


  • Jackie Carrubba
    Dr. David M. & Shirley A. Jones Student Art Award
  • Taylor Dillavou
    Parkland President's Award
  • Tamara Asire
    Blair Kling Memorial Award
  • Justin Beck
    Fine & Applied Arts Chair Award
  • Sarah Wiseman
    Art & Design Faculty Award
  • Benjamin Carlton
    Metals Award of Artistic Distinction
  • Logan Ingold
    Arrowmont School of Arts & Crafts Award
  • Andrew Waner
    Art Coop Award


  • Saxon Burns
  • Lisa Cacho
  • Ian Fisher
  • Rayomand Irani
  • Katia Janes
  • Edwina Kugel
  • Andres Morales-Torres


  • Mikyung Eum
  • Samantha Frost
  • Rayomand Irani
  • Chris Johns
  • Eunjoo Kang
  • Rahni Kirksey
  • Betsy Kruger
  • Karissa Marshall
  • Derek Martin
  • Mason Miller
  • Levi Neff
  • Kat Owen
  • Savannah Roberts
  • Edwin Rodriguez
  • Paris Sharp
  • Shaheen Shorish
  • Peg Stierwalt
  • Catherine White

Our congratulation also go to the following student who were juried into the 2019 Illinois Community College exhbit (Governor's State University)

  • Logan Ingold
  • Rayomand Irani
  • Chris Johns
  • Stephen Kaufman
  • Kayla McEvoy (2 Honorable Mentions) Najma Motan
  • Levi Neff
  • Catherine White