Graphic Design Student Show 2018

Monday, May 14–Saturday, May 31, 2018

  • Reception: Wednesday, May 16, 2018, 5:30–7:30 pm
    Reception cosponsored by the Champaign-Urbana Design Organization (CUDO)
  • Awards Ceremony at 6:30 pm
  • Live music by Ms. M and the Jokers
  • Gallery Talk by Paul Young immediately following the Awards Ceremonies


The juried exhibit highlights work completed by students in the current academic year, beginning with summer 2017. Parkland College Graphic Design and Interactive Design faculty jury the show and select the most imaginative, inspiring, distinctive, innovative, unusual and memorable pieces for display in the gallery. Local industry professionals, invited to judge the show, then select the awards.

This year’s judges are Natalie Fiol, graphic designer at the College of Fine and Applied Arts at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, and David Michael Moore, freelance graphic designer, illustrator, and facilitator. 

"I was very impressed with the selection for this year's show, Moore remarked. "I'm excited for this next wave of design coming from Parkland College!" 

"I felt creatively rejuvenated and inspired after judging the 2018 Parkland College Graphic Design Student Show," Fiol added. "Overall, the work features a nice mix of playful, classic and contemporary styles, and the illustration work was particularly strong this year. It was an honor to have a voice in the selection of this year's awards."

Works in the exhibit showcase creative solutions to design problems presented to students in Parkland’s Graphic Design, Interactive Design and Illustration studio classes. Gallery visitors can expect to see traditional print media, motion graphics, logos, branding, packaging, menus, books, publications, posters, brochures, websites, video and illustration. 



Award recipients included:

  • Brooke Armstrong of Champaign, who won the President's Award of Excellence, the Fine and Applied Arts Department Chair Award, and the Surface 51 Award of Excellence
  • Abby Eichstedt of Mahomet, who won the Illustration Best of Show Award (sponsored by The Robeson Family) and the Surface 51 Award of Excellence
  • Justin Klett of Urbana, who won the Electric Pictures Award of Excellence
  • Kristy Lau, of Chicago, who won the Graphic Design Best of Show, the CUDO Award of Excellence, and the Champaign County Stormwater Partnership Environmental Stewardship Award
  • Arnie Lack of Champaign, who won the Award of Excellence; and Miriam Tworek-Hofstetter of Urbana, who won the David M. and Shirley A. Jones Student Art Award.

Students participating in the juried exhibition are, by hometown:

  • Champaign: Andrea Abbas, Brooke Armstrong, Ryan Berner, Adam Christians, Julian Dessen, Hayden Garrison, Arnie Lack, Scott Landells, Yanfen Li, Sarah Marjanovic, Karissa Marshall, Jared Peterson, Hilary Pope, Erin Sheahan, Miriam and Michelle Wright
  • Chicago: Kristy Lau
  • Fithian: Jesse Auterman
  • Homer: Megan Perry 
  • LeRoy: Noah Perry 
  • Mahomet: Abby Eichstedt
  • Monticello: Sabina Fogal, Alia Frickensmith, Jack Nave Paige Thompson
  • Ogden: Hannah Wilson
  • Paxton: Jennifer Diesburg, William Young
  • Pesotum: Madelyn Witruk
  • Rantoul: Marco Vasquez
  • Sidney: Makenzie Heyen
  • Springfield: Matthew Waldinger
  • Tuscola: Lindsey Pagel
  • Urbana: Wahab Alamri, Michael Dalton, Jason Dockins, Debra Domal, Trina Kauffman, Justin Klett, Ju Hyun Kong, Ruiz Moreno, Alexa Musgrove, Jiyoung Song, Miriam Tworek-hofstetter, and Hyein Yang

Immediately after the awards ceremony, Professor Young gave a gallery talk and guided tour of the exhibition. He explained why the exhibit is important to students.

"Parkland College is one of the few community colleges in the U.S. that offers a series of professional illustration courses," Young said. "Students who take these hands-on studio art courses leave the class with functional commercial art samples for their portfolio."