Student Fine Art Juried Exhibition

April 10 – May 6, 2006

  • Reception: Thursday, April 13, 6–8 p.m., gallery lounge
  • Awards Ceremony at 7 p.m.
  • Musical Performance by Nick Taylor Trio

photo of person jumpingThis exhibit publicly acknowledges the accomplishments made by the talented, dedicated and hard working students at Parkland College within the Arts Department.

Members of the art faculty select works for the exhibit from more than 400 submissions of student work from the current school year. This exhibition is comprised of works produced in our Fine and Applied Arts Department classes within the last year. It includes artwork from students in Photography, Painting, Drawing, Metals, Sculpture, Three-Dimensional Design, Two-Dimensional Design, Color Theory, and Ceramics. This annual show not only celebrates the recent accomplishments of the students but reflects the wide range of media explored while taking classes as well. It also demonstrates tenacity and commitment, revealing the development of critical thinking and visual perception of each exhibiting artist.

Students with exceptional artworks on exhibit receive special awards. Annual monetary awards include the Dr. David M. and Shirley A. Jones Student Art Award for a work of outstanding artistic achievement; the Department Chair of Fine and Applied Arts Award for excellence; The President's Award for Artistic Distinction, The Parkland Library Purchase Award and the Metals Award. Additional awards include the Arrowmont School of Arts and Crafts Scholarship for a summer workshop and the Art Coop merchandise award. Merit awards are also given for excellent work. The recipient of the Underwood-Alger Art Scholarship, a full tuition scholarship for Parkland College, was also acknowledged at the Reception.

2006 Award Recipients

  • Maria Dorofeeva: Underwood Algier Scholarship Award
  • Tedra W. Ashley: Metals Award
  • Eric Cain: FAA Chair Award
  • Hyo Young Kim: The Arrowmont School of Arts & Crafts Award
  • Emily Klein: The President's Award
  • Jason R. Patterson: The Art Coop Award
  • Sheila Schneider: Dr. David M. and Shirley A. Jones Award
  • Milena Tiner: Shaw Creative Associates Award
  • Danielle McNamara: Library Purchase Award

Merit Awards:
Kristin Anderson, Terra Anderson, Janet Brandon, Melanie Brine, Anthony Burkert, Eric Cain, Cindy Carlson, Margaret DeCardy, Judy Dethmers, Tara Farrington, Berenice Fuentes, Heather Harris, Ryan M. Jones, Judy Jones, Taylor Kane , Emily Klein, Jessica Lambert, Dennis Lewis, Margie Nelson, Paula Popowski, Erin Prather, Shane Rodems, Ann Rund, Kristin Smaardyk, Cindy Smith, Liddia Stevens, Amy Stevenson, Sheri Stinson, Amy Strong, Gayle Tilford, Milena Tiner, Brenda H Vogen, Bonnie Voigt

Purchase Awards:
Glenn Akers, Eric Cain, Monica Dig, Shawn Fairchild, Emily Klein, Jessica Lambert, Milena Tiner and Suzanna Winans