Art and Design Student Juried Exhibition

April 11 - April 30, 2016


  • Reception: April 14, 5-7 p.m., gallery lounge
  • Music by the Parkland Guitar Ensemble
  • Awards ceremony at 6:30 p.m.

William Smith, Still Life oil on canvas, 20" x 16", 2015 Audiences will enjoy an impressive body of student work in photography, painting, drawing, metals, sculpture, three-dimensional design, two-dimensional design, color theory, and ceramics. Parkland Art and Design faculty will select approximately 180 works from among more than 350 entries. Students taking art classes in the current academic year, beginning with summer 2015, were eligible to submit artwork.
Joan Stolz, a painting and drawing instructor, joins many faculty and students looking forward to this exhibit each spring. "It’s my favorite show of the year," she said. "It's a great opportunity for us as instructors to see what our students have been making in classes other than our own."

The student art exhibition allows budding professional artists to showcase their extensive talent and the exploration processes they have experienced in Parkland Art and Design courses, explained Giertz Gallery Director Lisa Costello.

"This show introduces them to professional practices they will encounter in their field, such as working with a gallery, preparing their work for exhibition, and engaging in the jurying process that is essential for an emerging artist," Costello said. "That kind of experience is necessary for resume building and establishing themselves as practicing artists after graduation or transfer to a four-year college."

The accomplishments made by these talented, dedicated, and hardworking students are evident by the works included in the exhibit. A reception honoring the participants was held on Thursday, April 14 from 5 to 7 p.m. During the celebration, students received a number of awards and art scholarships.

Scholarship recipients included Neda Sroka of Savoy, who won the Underwood-Alger Art Scholarship; Emily Goetting of Paxton, who received the Don Lake Art Scholarship; and Caitlin Sims of Champaign, winner of the Arrowmont School of Arts and Crafts Scholarship.

Monetary awards included the Dr. David M. and Shirley A. Jones Student Art Award for work of outstanding artistic achievement, given to Yoonjung Sung (Champaign); the Parkland President's Award, given to Cole Cary (Monticello); the Blair Kling Memorial Award, given to Destiny Norris (Urbana); the Fine & Applied Arts Chair Award for Excellence, given to Eunsook Park (Champaign); the Art & Design Faculty Award, given to William Smith (Champaign); the Metals Award of Artistic Distinction, given to Micah Klaman (Champaign); and the Art Coop Award, given to Ethan Loew (White Heath).

Purchase Awards for artwork to be included in the Parkland College Permanent Collection went to: Katherine Anderson (Savoy), Karen Deering (Monticello), Naomi Johnson (Urbana), Bailee Kaufman (Champaign), and Erin Nishida (Chicago).

Merit Awards for outstanding work went to the following students: Jordan Bidner (Fisher), Sarah Calhoun (Thomasboro), Joan Campagnolo (Champaign), Benjamin Carlton (Champaign), Jane Domier (Urbana), Hiroko Ito (Savoy), Sarah Kunz (Collinsville), Clare Margiotta (Champaign), Kristin Marshall (Champaign), Lindsey Phillips (Champaign), Will Ryan (Champaign), Andrew Smith (Mahomet), Scott Wells (Champaign), Sharon Wenda (Champaign), and Michelle Wright (Champaign).

The following is a full list of students with art in the juried exhibition, listed by hometown:

Arcola: Irineo Vega
Bement: Joshua Watzlawick
Broadlands: Haley Abbott
Buckley: Jessica Wyckoff
Champaign: Roberto Arellano, Ray Arseneau, Mackenzie Bonnett, Laurel Brown, Joan Campagnolo, Benjamin Carlton, Jackie Carrubba, Devyn Clay, Jia Curry-Bild, Margarita Dmitrieva, Josh Doniek, Victor Feldman, Colleen Freund, Joan Gary, Anthony Jones, Linda Jordan, Rashmi Kapoor, Bailee Kaufman, Micah Klaman, Betsy Kruger, Clare Margiotta, Karissa Marshall, Kristin Marshall, Simone McConnell, Shawna Meadows, Eunsook Park, Lindsey Phillips, Ruta Rauber, Thomas Ray, Niky Reynolds, Brian Roberson, Will Ryan, Connor Schneider, Caitlin Sims, Morgan Small, William Smith, Michelle Stephens, Yoonjung Sung, Joseph Talavera, Jake Trubman, Alex Uhlarik, Linda Weiner, Scott Wells, Sharon Wenda, Marilyn Wendler, Catherine White, Eric Wildhagen, Michelle Wright, Ethan Young, David Zenge
Chicago: Erin Nishida
Collinsville: Sarah Kunz
Dewey: Mercedes Watson-Hall
Fisher: Jordan Bidner
Gifford: Shawna Gernentz
Homewood Zachary Larks
Le Roy: Tyler Cook, Danielle Segerstrom
Libertyville: Morgan Gawlik
Longview: Jennifer Vargo Hauser
Mahomet: Courtney Bretz, Tammy Cranston, Allison Madura, Nick Mercier, Andrew Smith, Alexie Wright
Monticello: Lisa Brunner, Cole Cary, Karen Deering, Aaron Goodman, Lori Lilly, Jessica Stanze, Henry Wilkinson
Oakwood: Chad Myler
Paxton: Emily Goetting, Logan Ingold, Levi Neff
Pesotum: Glory LaPayne
Philo: Patricia Guthrie
Rantoul: Sarah Huff, Lydia Kelly, Lydia Miller, William Wagner
Sadorus: Erin Rogers
Savoy: Katherine Anderson, Cayden Bergschneider, Sarmad Dhahir, Carmen Egolf, Hiroko Ito, Sekani Reed, Neda Sroka
St. Joseph: Bethany Manalo
Thomasboro: Sarah Calhoun
Tuscola: Danielle Carter
Urbana: Jane Domier, Leslie Estes, Peter Garrett, Martha Henigman, Naomi Johnson, Lori Kendall, Kinara Morris, Destiny Norris, Mary Overmier, Juan Santiago, Tyler Williams
White Heath: Ethan Loew


Image: William Smith, Still Life, oil on canvas, 20" x 16", 2015