Distinguished Alumni

The Distinguished Alumnus Award was established in 2008 by the Parkland College Alumni Association to recognize exceptional alumni. Awarded during the spring commencement ceremonies, this award is given for academic, professional, personal and community contributions and achievements. 

Eligibility includes the ability to attend commencement ceremonies in May and a minimum of 31 credit hours at Parkland College. 

Brad Evans Color Photo

2019 Distinguished Alumnus: Brad Evans  

Brad Evans is a resident fantasy football, NFL Draft, college basketball, and betting analyst for Yahoo Sports, a regularly featured analyst on the Emmy-nominated "Yahoo's Fantasy Football Live." He has won more individual Fantasy Sports Writers Association awards than any analyst in the industry, including Football Writer of the Year Awards in 2012 and 2015 and five College Sports Writer of the Year Awards between 2009 and 2014. He was inducted into the Fantasy Sports Writers Association Hall of Fame in 2018. Evans has provided his expertise on numerous national network and syndicated sports shows and is creator and co-host of "The Fantasy Football Hour" on Altitude TV, which earned "Best Video" nominations in its first three seasons and has aired in over 90 million households nationwide. 

After attending Parkland College from 1996 to 1999, Evans earned his BA in History from the University of Illinois and his Masters in Geological and Earth Sciences from Mississippi State University. Prior to becoming a sports columnist and personality, he taught social studies, weather, psychology, and health classes for SIX years at the READY program in Champaign, an alternative school for high school students. 

Past Recipients

2018 - Kelly Duitsman Loschen

2017 - Ashley Morgan 

2016 - Peter B. Alexander

2015 - Charles Smith

2014 - Jeffrey Hettler

2013 - Mark Pelafos

2012 - Stuart King

2011 - Darrin Peters

2010 - Krystal Fitzpatrick

2009 - Sandra Reifsteck 

2008 - Dennis Riggs

If you are interested in nominating an individual for this prestigious award, please contact our offices at foundation@parkland.edu or 217-351-2458.