Honorary Degree

The Honorary Associates Degree was established in 1998. Awarded during the spring commencement ceremonies, this award is given for academic, professional, personal and community contributions and achievements. 

2023 Honorary Associates Degree Recipient: Sue Grey

Sue Grey woman in red sweater

The recipient of the 2023 Honorary Associate Degree is Sue Grey.

Sue Grey is the President and CEO of the United Way of Champaign County. She has been a member of that team since 2006 and has over 38 years of experience working with the community, bringing people and resources together to make lasting change and a positive impact in our community.

Before joining United Way, Sue worked at Champaign Park District, organizing community events, managing volunteers, and working with the Board of Commissioners. Sue also spent three years with the Green Meadows Girl Scout Council as its CEO.

As a “townie,” Sue has developed great community contacts and mobilizes those resources to better the quality of life for those in need in Champaign County. She is a member of the Champaign Rotary, an Alpha Phi alumna, and graduate of Leadership Illinois 2019. Sue was elected to the Champaign Unit 4 School Board in April 2007 and again in 2011; she served as board president for two years.

A recipient of the 2005 Champaign County Chamber of Commerce Athena® Award, Sue was also selected as A Woman of Distinction by the East Central Illinois Girl Scout Council in 2012.

Sue has been married to Tom Grey for 36 years and has three children and three grandchildren.

Past Recipients

2021 - Paul Kunkel

2019 - Linden Warfel

2018 - Greg Cozad

2017 - Robert O. Carr 

2016 - JoAnn McGrain

2015 - Bergen and Marilyn Parkhill

2013 - Carl Meyer

2012 - Murray Wise

2011 - Robert Easter

2010 - Jeff and Charlotte Wandell

2009 - Michael Vitoux 

2008 - Lois Dickson

2007 - Doug Mills

2006 - George Shapland

2005 - Richard and Rosann Noel

2004 - Wayne Weber 

2003 - Donald Dodds

2002 - Stan Weaver

2001 - Rachel Schroeder

2000 - John Albin

1999 - Mary Lou Staerkel

1998 - Bill Froom and Dick O'Dell


Nominations are due by March 31 of each year. If you are interested in nominating an individual for this prestigious award, please contact our offices at foundation@parkland.edu or 217/351-2458