To be considered for a Parkland College Theatre Production, you must agree to abide by the Parkland College Theatre Letter of Agreement.  Please read the agreement before coming to auditions.  You will be asked to sign your audition form, stating that you have read and understand the agreement.  If you have questions, please ask Theatre Director Brian D. Morgan (

All members of the community, as well as Parkland and U of I students, are invited to audition; Parkland Theatre encourages diversity. Those with additional questions should email

Spring 2024 Auditions

December 2, 2023, 9 am – 4 pm
Check-in at the Parkland Theatre Box Office
Callbacks will be held on Sunday, December 3 from 12 pm – 4 pm. You will be contacted on Saturday evening by the director or stage manager if you are needed for a callback. 

How to Audition

Visit our Sign-Up Genius page to sign-up for an audition slot for either Rosencrantz and Guildenstern Are Dead or Little Shop of Horrors. You may sign up for one or both shows (please be sure your audition times do not overlap.) 

Fill out the Audition Form (via Google Forms). You only need to do this once if you are auditioning for both shows and do not need to print a copy to bring with you to the auditions. 

Read the audition requirements for each show, listed in the next section. 

Rosencrantz and Guildenstern Are Dead

Written by: Tom Stoppard
Directed by Amy Penne

Casting 12 – 15 actors of any age, race, and gender. Also, 3 – 5 musicians who will double as Tragedians playing classical guitar, recorder/flute, or drums (portable/parade). All actors and actor/musicians please sign up for a 15-minute audition slot.

Please familiarize yourself with the below listed acting sides. Auditions are in groups; you may be asked to read from more than one of the sides listed below.

Actors should also be familiar with the play Hamlet. If you are interested in the roles of Hamlet, Ophelia, and Gertrude, please also prepare one of the speeches below for your audition.

If you are an actor/musician, please prepare 30 seconds of a song on your instrument in a basic Medieval/Renaissance tavern-style in addition to the acting sides listed above.

Little Shop of Horrors

Written by: Howard Ashman, Music by: Alan Menken, Directed by Michael O'Brien, Music Directed by Cheryl Forest Morganson, Choreographed by Whitney Havice

Casting 8 – 10 actors and up to 5 puppeteers of any age, race, and gender. It is intended that the voice of Audrey 2 will be the primary puppeteer. All other puppeteers are NOT speaking or singing roles. All actors must sign up for both a 15-minute vocal audition and a 30-minute movement/puppetry audition. Those seeking to audition as only a puppeteer do not need to sign up for a vocal audition. 

Music audition information: 

Please prepare 30-45 seconds of music in the style of the show – specifically doo-wop or 60s soul. Auditioning with songs from Little Shop of Horrors is greatly discouraged. Audition music must be presented to the provided accompanist in a 3-ring binder. Please ensure the music is printed clearly, readable, and in its original form (no additional markings or writings on the sheet other than where to start and stop.) 

An informational video on vocal audition preparation has been provided by Music Director, Cheryl Forest Morganson. Please watch for instructions on how to best prepare for your vocal audition here

Movement/Puppetry information: 
Come prepared to move and play! Instructions will be provided during the audition.