News

Parkland College Celebrates Black History Month 2024
Wietecha
/ Categories: General, Student Life

Parkland College Celebrates Black History Month 2024

Parkland College is observing Black History Month with monthlong events.

CHAMPAIGN, Ill. — Parkland College is observing Black History Month with monthlong events.

With the theme "African-American Impacts on the Arts and Culture," the college will explore historical and contemporary African American accomplishments.

Parkland invites all community members to participate in the following events unless otherwise noted. For more information and session links, where applicable, please visit parkland.edu/BHM.
 
Crafts and Culture
Monday, February 5
11:30 a.m.–1 p.m.
Student Life, U111

Rhythm is Life: Movement and Music
We will move together, drum together, and heal together. We will learn the power of expressive arts and deep relaxation by incorporating meditation and mindfulness.
Tuesday, February 6
1–2 p.m.
U140

Karaoke
Wednesday, February 7
11:30 a.m.–1:30 p.m.
Student Union

Courage Connection
Dating Violence Awareness
Monday, February 12
11:30 a.m.–1 p.m.
Location U140

Hot Takes with BSA & Club Latino
Tuesday, February 13
11:30 a.m.–12:30 p.m.
U140

Rhythm is Life: Movement and Music
Tuesday, February 13
1–2 p.m.
U140

Soul Food Lunch Special
Wednesday, February 14
10:30 a.m. until food runs out (or 1:30 p.m.)
Student Union Cafeteria

Film Screening: Queen & Slim
Wednesday, February 14
11 a.m.–3 p.m.
Location U106

Sexual Health Awareness
Wednesday, February 14
1–2 p.m.
Student Union

Healthy Relationships
Thursday, February 15
11:30 a.m.–1 p.m.
U140

Fashion Show
Please join us as we celebrate Black history and showcase fashion of the African Diaspora.
Monday, February 19
11:30 a.m.–1:30 p.m.
Student Union Stage

Poetry/Spoken Word
Tuesday, February 20
12:30–1:30 p.m.
Student Union Stage

Counseling Support Center Workshop
"Soulful Healing in Black History"
Wednesday, February 21
Noon–1 p.m.
Student Life in U111

Black and Latinx Summit
Saturday, February 24
9 a.m.–4 p.m.
I Hotel and Illinois Conference Center

Black History Trivia
Monday, February 26
11:30 a.m.–1:30 p.m.
Student Union Stage

Rhythm is Life: Movement and Music
Tuesday, February 27
1–2 p.m.
U140

Race Talks
Wednesday, February 28
1–2 p.m.
Room U140

Scavenger Hunt
Wednesday, February 28
2–3 p.m.
Student Union Stage

Previous Article Parkland Theatre Presents "Rosencrantz and Guildenstern are Dead"
Next Article "The Distance Between" Exhibit at Giertz Gallery Opens Feb. 19
Print
308 Rate this article:
No rating