Outstanding staff award - green winner

The Parkland College Outstanding Staff Green Award is presented each year to a staff member of 5 years or fewer who demonstrates excellence in college involvement, job performance, and attitude.

2024 Outstanding Staff Award - Green Winner

Daniel M. Reck


Daniel M. Reck, M.S.Ed., joined the Campus Technologies team in 2021, bringing to Parkland College two decades of higher education leadership experience spanning student services, academic records and registration, facilities management, campus events, communications and marketing, and music ensemble administration. In each area, he guided his team to assess their work in the context of data-informed best practices and their educational mission. Daniel elevates his Parkland colleagues through mentorship and guidance, collaborating with them to build improved and efficient administrative processes which serve the college and its students.

As a community educator, Daniel is Executive Director of Sound Curiosity, a non-profit organization developing music and STEM education programs to serve Champaign County. He has conducted collegiate, high school, and community ensembles in venues across the United States and Europe and is a published composer. A multi-disciplinary artist, Daniel's photography of student life and college athletics was featured by the Smithsonian Institution in a nationally-touring exhibit.

Daniel researched leadership in higher education student life at Northwestern University while earning the degree of Master of Science in Education and Social Policy. He also earned the Bachelor of Arts degree at DePauw University, where he studied computer science and music. He is a life-long Scouting volunteer, frequently appointed to the service teams for National and World Scout Jamborees.

A passionate advocate for accessible public education, Daniel looks forward to many fulfilling years serving Parkland College's mission to engage our community in learning.

Past Winners

2023 Winner: HeatherAnn Layman


HeatherAnn Layman

HeatherAnn is the Operations Assistant for the Planetarium and Theatre. She is involved with the scholarship review committee, IDEAS committee, and Entertainment Technology Committee for the Entertainment Technology Program in AMSS.Her colleagues say that “she embodies all the qualities that make a great Parkland employee that also help transcend to help make Parkland a wonderful place."

2022 Winner: Brennon Hightower

Brennon Hightower


As a career counselor in Counseling Services, Brennon provides class presentations across campus, creates engaging videos on Instagram, conducts mock interviews, and highlights career services in the college center. In addition, she participates in the Parkland 4 Civility 2.0 Initiative, presents during Black History Month, collaborates with local libraries and the Champaign Chamber of Commerce, and represents Parkland in a variety of ways throughout the community. Brennon is known to be innovative and responsible, creative and fun, resourceful, engaged, and relentlessly positive as she supports the diverse needs of our student population. Brennon has a Master of Science in Leadership Development, a Bachelor of Science in Marketing & Management, and Associate of Science and Arts in Journalism. She enjoys unique travel experiences, journaling, photography, and spending time with her friends and family.

2021 Winner: Robert Bielmeier

Robert Bielmeier 


Robert began his Parkland career as a student worker and we kept him here! In addition to his associate’s degree from Parkland, he has a bachelor’s degree from Eastern Illinois University and a master’s degree in Student Affairs in Higher Education from Colorado State University.

As a Financial Aid Advisor and Loan Coordinator, Robert works with students and their families to help them understand their financial aid package as well as other options to fund their education. Robert has conducted numerous financial aid presentations for current and prospective students including presenting at local high schools to the parents of prospective students. 

Robert is involved in the Parkland community by serving as the Chair of the Union Social Committee, a member of the Fun Raising Team, PCA’s Policies and Procedures committee, and a co-chair of an HLC sub-group.  Robert also represents Parkland College by serving as the Chair of the Conference Facilities Committee for the Illinois Association of Student Financial Aid Administrators. 

2020 Winner: Amy Frasca

Amy Frasca 


A native of Peoria, Illinois, Amy is a graduate of Parkland College and Illinois Wesleyan University with a Bachelor of Fine Arts degree. Amy has been in the role of Department Assistant for the Humanities and Fine and Applied Arts Departments since December 2016. Outside of the office, Amy is also a proud member of the Parkland Chamber Singers.

Past Award Winners (2009 – 2019)

2019 – Jessica Jackson

2018 – Sarah Hartman

2016 – Donnie Johnson

2015 – Cindy Smith

2013 – Lisa Brantley

2012 – Joy Garling Prud’homme

2011 – Myriah Benner Coogan

2010 – Patti Arthur

2009 – Kristin Bluhm