Parkland Trustee Elected to Illinois Community College Board

Parkland Trustee Elected to Illinois Community College Board

Dr. Maureen Banks to represent community college trustees on ICCB for six-year term

Parkland College Trustee Dr. Maureen Banks has been selected to serve on the Illinois Community College Board (ICCB). Banks will be representing the Community College Trustees on the ICCB, serving a six-year term. She joins Parkland College student René Juárez-Cuevas, who is currently serving a one-year term on the ICCB as its student board member. Banks was elected to the Parkland College Board of Trustees in April 2021. An active participant in the Champaign-Urbana community, she has served multiple-year terms on several local and national boards. She currently participates on the Illinois Community College Trustees Association, Association of Community College Trustees, Carle Institutional Review Board, the Champaign Rotary Foundation Board, and the Quincy University Board of Trustees. "It is my privilege to help relay the ideas, needs, and concerns of our state's community colleges through my service on the ICCB," Banks said. "Community colleges are vital institutions for building a strong national workforce, and Parkland College encapsulates this valuable impact on communities." With over 30 years at the University of Illinois, Banks recently retired as the director of the Division of Safety and Compliance. Her career has been committed to occupational safety and environmental compliance in private industries and public institutions, including DuPont de Nemours, Inc., Southland Corporation, Banks Safety Consultants, and the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. She earned a bachelor’s degree at Western Illinois University, a master’s degree from the University of Iowa, and a doctorate from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. Banks and her husband Sam have three adult children: Bryan (Kayla), Brittany Banks Simon (Coulter), and Danielle Banks; and four grandchildren. The Illinois Community College Board utilizes the advice and counsel of all constituent groups of the community college system in establishing policies necessary to implement state statutes. The board consists of 11 members appointed by the governor and confirmed by the senate for six-year terms. The board chair is selected by the governor. Board meetings are held six times per year. One student member is selected by the ICCB Student Advisory Committee for a one-year term.  For more information about the Illinois Community College Board, visit its webpage at

Previous Article Giertz Gallery Presents Online Artist Lecture, January 26
Next Article Campus Closed Wednesday, January 25 for Predicted Inclement Weather
1110 Rate this article: