Parkland Trustees Approve FY '23 Budget
/ Categories: News, Board of Trustees, General

Parkland Trustees Approve FY '23 Budget

Board also recognizes five faculty, staff excellence award winners

The Parkland College Board of Trustees adopted the college's budget for the new fiscal year, recognized faculty and staff excellence, and approved projects that would upgrade exterior areas around campus.   At their regular meeting Wednesday, trustees approved the FY 2023 budget, which includes a $260,799 operating surplus. Chief Financial Officer Chris Randles first presented the tentative budget in July, and the budget was on display for public review and input starting Aug. 1.   Following President Tom Ramage's remarks to the board, Beth Bachtold, director of the Center for Excellence in Teaching and Learning, presented the following 2022 awards for faculty and staff excellence:

  • Manny Rodriguez, Teaching Excellence Award
  • Heidi Leuszler, Leadership Award for Outstanding Full-Time Faculty
  • Michelle Dallmier, Leadership Award for Outstanding Adjunct Faculty
  • Brennon Hightower, Outstanding Staff Green Award (<5 Years' Service)
  • Karen Rocha – Outstanding Staff Gold Award (5+ Years' Service)

Also during the meeting, trustees received an update on the Campus Master Plan from physical plant Director Jim Bustard, then approved Protection, Health, and Safety (PHS) Fund projects to help reconstruct the fountain courtyard; upgrade exterior parking lot lights; seal and restripe the B, C, and M parking lots; and begin adding exterior safety cameras.   In other business, trustees approved:

  • exempt purchases:
    • for athletic training room and event coverage with Carle Hospital of Urbana, $25,720;
    • for emergency food services for the Parkland College Child Development Center from Hendrick House Catering, $50,000;
    • for portable radios for the Parkland College Police Department from Motorola Solutions through Supreme Radio Communications of Bloomington, Ill., $27,710;
    • for investigative and other compliance services from Title IX Solutions, LLC of Belleville, Ill., $50,000;  
  • personnel appointments:
    • Patrick Holy, Director, System Development and Support, Campus Technologies
    • J. Hans Dee, Flight Instructor Aviation
    • Daniel Wycoff, Flight Instructor Aviation
    • Dong Jin Shin, Flight Instructor Aviation
    • Ian Kunz, Flight Instructor Aviation
    • Paolo Kinsella, Flight Instructor Aviation
    • Connor Kamradt, Instructor, Ford ASSET, Applied Sciences/Technology
    • Ryan Mitsdarffer, Instructor, Diesel Power, Agriculture
    • Amanda Avery, Non-Tenure LTC Librarian, Learning Commons
    • David Charney, Instructor, Ford ASSET, Applied Sciences/Technology
    • Stacie Young, OTA Instructor, Health Professions
    • Gishanthi Marasinghe, Chemistry Lab Manager, Natural Sciences
    • Ashanti Lumpkin, Wellness Coordinator, Student Life
    • Cora Geiken, Administrative Assistant to the Deans, Student Services
    • Gary Rosenbeck II, Maintenance Technician/Plumber/HVAC, Physical Plant
    • Amber Osborne, TRiO Retention Coordinator, TRiO
    • Rachel Staley, Operations Manager, Health Professions
    • Connor Weber, Public Safety Officer, Public Safety
Previous Article Planetarium Celebrates 35th Anniversary with Zeiss-Only Show
Next Article Students to Give Findings in Next Kaler Lecture
1322 Rate this article:
No rating