Parkland Board Honors Late Trustee Timothy Johnson
/ Categories: Board of Trustees, General

Parkland Board Honors Late Trustee Timothy Johnson

Board of Trustees General Meeting, May 18

The Parkland College Board of Trustees began their regular meeting Wednesday by honoring late trustee Timothy Johnson.

Before attending to the board's regular business, Chair Jim Voyles led with a moment of silence to honor Trustee Johnson's life and seven years of service to Parkland College following his passing on May 9, 2022.

A graduate of Urbana High School, Mr. Johnson attended the US Military Academy at West Point in 1964. He graduated Phi Beta Kappa from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign in 1969, a Bronze Tablet honoree. He graduated cum laude from the University of Illinois College of Law in 1972.

In 2013, Mr. Johnson was inducted as a Laureate of The Lincoln Academy of Illinois and awarded the Order of Lincoln, the state’s highest award, by Gov. Patrick Quinn in the area of Communications. He served as the US Representative for Illinois' 15th congressional district from 2001 to 2013 and as a member of the Illinois House of Representatives from 1976 to 2000. He was elected to the Parkland College Board of Trustees in 2015. Mr. Johnson will be remembered for his dedication to Parkland students and the residents of District 505.

After the moment of silence, Parkland president Dr. Ramage provided his report to the board, including an overview of the 2022-2023 Annual Plan summary. Tracy Wahlfeldt, executive director of the Parkland Foundation, followed with an update on Foundation activities.

In other business, trustees approved:

  • the declaration of surplus property

  • the purchase of:

    • increased services from Rock Gate Capital, DBA 160 Diving Academy, $250,000

  • the filing of the following grant applications:

    • Illinois State Board of Education (ISBE): Facilitating Coordination in
      Agricultural Education (FCAE)—Local Program Support

    • Congressionally Directed Spending Request (Sen. Duckworth): Chemistry Education Lab Improvement

    • Congressionally Directed Spending Request (Rep. Davis): FY2023 Community Project Funding Application—Health Professions Improvement

    • National Science Foundation (NSF): Advancing Innovation and Impact in Undergraduate STEM Education at Two-Year Institutions of Higher Education

    • Illinois Community College Board (ICCB): Early Childhood Access for Equity Consortium

  • the acceptance of funds from external sources:

    • Illinois Department of Human Services and Illinois Network of Child Care Resource & Referral Agencies (INCCRRA): Child Care Workforce Bonus

    • Illinois Emergency Management Agency (IEMA): FEMA Public Assistance Program (App. #2)

    • Illinois Community College Board (ICCB): FY22 Transitional Instruction Innovation Grant

    • Illinois State Board of Education (ISBE): FY22 Migrant Education Program (MEP)

    • Illinois Arts Council Agency (IACA): FY22 Summer Youth Employment in the Arts (SYE)

  • personnel appointments: 

    • Alexus Hasler, Academic Services Advisor, Advising and Career Services

    • James Welander, Asst. II: Loanable Technology and Accounts, Learning Commons

    • Gerald Lighty, Jr., Precision Agriculture Faculty, Ag Tech

    • Jessica Alvarez, Police Officer, Public Safety

Previous Article Parkland College's 2022 CobraVenture Pitch Showcase is May 23
Next Article "Beneath a Summer Sky: Watercolors by Carol Carter" at Parkland Gallery
1733 Rate this article:
No rating