Students Win Parkland Art and Design Exhibition Awards, Scholarships

Students Win Parkland Art and Design Exhibition Awards, Scholarships

Students received a number of awards, art scholarships in exhibit running through May 5

The Giertz Gallery at Parkland College proudly announces the scholarship and award winners of its 2018 Art and Design Student Juried Exhibition, on display in the gallery through May 5. 
The exhibition comprises student works produced within the last year in Parkland Art and Design classes including Photography, Painting, Drawing, Metals, Sculpture, Three-Dimensional Design, Two-Dimensional Design, Color Theory, and Ceramics. Members of Parkland's art faculty selected exhibit works from approximately 315 submissions. The public is invited to view the strength and quality of Parkland's Art and Design program through these artworks which demonstrate tenacity and commitment, and reveal the students' development of critical thinking and visual perception. 
The accomplishments made by these talented, dedicated, and hardworking students are evident by the works included in the exhibit. A reception honoring the participants was held on April 12. During the celebration, students received a number of awards and art scholarships. 
Scholarship recipients included Logan Ingold of Champaign, who won the Underwood-Alger Art Scholarship; Michael Dalton of Urbana, who received the Don Lake Art Scholarship; and Bailey Bryan of Homer, winner of the Robert Ralph Ford Art Scholarship.
Monetary awards included the Dr. David M. and Shirley A. Jones Student Art Award for work of outstanding artistic achievement, given to Duy Le (Champaign); the Parkland President's Award, given to Kayla McEvoy (Sadorus); the Blair Kling Memorial Award, given to Nicole Blair (Danville); the Fine and Applied Arts Chair Award for Excellence, given to Hyein Yang (Urbana); the Art and Design Faculty Award, given to Matthew Thornton (Urbana); the Metals Award of Artistic Distinction, given to Cibele Aguiar (Champaign); the Louis Ballard Memorial Ceramics Award, given to Bailey Bryan (Homer); and the Art Coop Award, given to Justin Beck (St. Joseph).

Purchase awards for artwork to be included in the Parkland College Collection went to: Devyn Clay (Champaign), Liam Daly (Champaign), Alia Frickensmith (Champaign), Logan Ingold (Champaign), Mikhail Kogan (Champaign), Andres Morales-Torres (Urbana), and Andrew Waner (Champaign).

Merit awards for outstanding work went to the following students: Brooke Armstrong (Champaign), Barlow James (Champaign), Nicole Blair (Danville), Saxon Burns (Urbana), Caressa Dillow (Bement), Allie Floreth (Champaign), Lyndsey Groth (Champaign), Chris Johns (Champaign), Rashmi Kapoor (Champaign), Stephen Kaufman (Urbana), Edwina Kugel (Champaign), Jane Liao (Champaign), Karissa Marshall (Champaign), John Nine (Champaign), Erin Rogers (Sadorus), Juan Santiago (Champaign), Heather Thomas-Winkeljohn (Champaign), Darlene Veit (Champaign), Catherine White (Champaign), Kelcey Williams (Champaign), and Meilin Zhang (Champaign).

Parkland also recognized Ixcell Vega, Anna Poindexter, Mikhail Kogan, Michael Dalton, and Joan Campagnolo for having their artwork chosen for the 2018 Illinois Community College Exhibit held at Governor's State University this spring. 

The following art students were recognized as completing the requirements for a degree during the 2017-2018 academic year. Emily Goetting, Bailee Kaufman, Destiny Norris, Noah Perry, Alexis Walter, and David Zenge have completed the requirements for an Associate of Fine Arts degree in Art and Design. Devyn Clay and Jacqueline Esquivel will receive an Associate of Fine Arts degree in Art Education. Leslie Estes, Shawna Gernentz, and Thomas Warner have earned an Associate of Arts and Sciences degree in Communications: Photography.

The following is a full list of students with art in the juried exhibition, listed by hometown:

Arcola: Ixcell Vega
Bement: Caressa Dillow
Bismarck: Rheyse Dice
Champaign: Cibele Aguiar, Elena Anisimova, Brooke Armstrong, Ray C. Arseneau, Brett Bailen, James Barlow, Jakob Broga, Joan Campagnolo, Jackie Carrubba, Sierra Clark, Devyn Clay, Freund Colleen, Liam Daly, Katrina Durham, Devin Evans, Victor Feldman, Ariana Flores, Alexandra Floreth, Alia Frickensmith, Brianna Gaspar, Lyndsey Groth, Judy Haydel, Mudi Huang, Logan Ingold, Rayomand Irani, Waleed Jassim, Chris Johns, Eunjoo Kang, Rashmi Kapoor, Ryan Kingsley, Sydnie Klemme, Mikhail Kogan, Edwina Kugel, Duy Le, Yunyu Li, Jane Liao, Clare Margiotta, Karissa Marshall, Ramona Montez, Adrieanna Moore-Johnson, Anita Nash, Alina Neverodska, John Nine, Pavel Pourmal, Ruta Rauber, Juan Santiago, Birute Simaitis, Yoonjung Sung, Heather Thomas-Winkeljohn, Carlos Vasquez, Darlene Veit, Andrew Waner, Linda Weiner, Scott Wells, Marilyn Wendler, Catherine White, Anthony Wilczynski, Eric Wildhagen, Kelcey Williams, Sarah Wisseman, Charles Wisseman, Meilin Zhang
Danville: Nicole Blair, George King II
Gifford: Joshua Frerichs
Homer: Bailey Bryan
LeRoy: Emma Lovellette
Mahomet: Samuel Livingston
Monticello: Nawaf Al-Khenaizi, Paige Thompson, Evan Reeder
Philo: Patricia Guthrie
Rantoul Brett Jones, Samuel Reeves
Sadorus Kayla McEvoy , Erin Rogers
Savoy: Loubna Abderrahmane, Alexis Ervin, Hiroko Ito
Sidney: Makenzie Heyen
St. Joseph: Justin Beck, Dezarae Dowers, Taura Ward
Tuscola: Haleigh Knight, Megan Quick
Urbana: Cole Aden, Brittany Bengtson, Saxon Burns, Curtis Cook, Michael Dalton, Peter Garrett, Jesse Huber, Naomi Johnson, Stephen Kaufman, Lori Kendall, Kathrine Koncel, Andres Morales-Torres, Sergio Ruiz Moreno, Cedric Smith, Matthew Thornton, Sharon Wenda, Cindy Westfall, Hyein Yang, Daniel Zhang

All events in the accessible gallery are free and open to the public. Parkland is a section 504/ADA-compliant institution. For accommodations, call 217/353-2082 or 

Gallery hours are Monday–Thursday, 10 a.m.–7 p.m.; and Saturday, noon–2 p.m. To find the gallery when classes are in session, we suggest using the M6 parking lot on the north corner of the campus. Enter through door X7, turn left, and follow the ramps uphill to the highest point on the first floor, where the gallery is located. The gallery windows overlook the outdoor fountain area. 

This program is partially supported by a grant from the Illinois Arts Council, a state agency. For more information, call Lisa Costello, Parkland Art Gallery director, at 217/351-2485.

Previous Article Registration for Fall Semester 2018 Underway
Next Article Parkland College Announces Candidates for Commencement 2018
6472 Rate this article:
No rating