Parkland Art, Design Students Win Exhibit Awards, Scholarships

Parkland Art, Design Students Win Exhibit Awards, Scholarships

Giertz Gallery announces scholarship, award winners

The exhibition comprises student works produced within the last year in Parkland Art and Design classes including photography, painting, drawing, metals, three-dimensional design, two-dimensional design, color theory, graphic design, figure drawing, and ceramics. Members of Parkland's art faculty selected close to 200 exhibiting works to display the strength and quality of the Art and Design program.

A reception honoring the participants was held on Thursday, April 13. Students received a number of awards and scholarships.

Scholarships: Ciaran Carr: Underwood-Alger Art Scholarship; Julie McCleery: Don Lake Art Scholarship; Kelly Hoene: Juanita Gammon Graphic Design Scholarship; and Hannah Cole: Robert Ralph Ford Memorial Fund. 

Monetary awards: Sophie Morgan, Parkland President's Award for Art; Honoka Adachi, Parkland President's Award for Design; Sarah Brown, Blair Kling Memorial Award; Ruoheng Yang, Arts, Media, and Social Sciences Department Chair Award for Excellence for Art; Kelly Hoene, Arts, Media, and Social Sciences Chair Award for Excellence for Design; Alison Hernandez, Art and Design Faculty Award; Chloe White, Metals Award of Artistic Distinction; Connor Altan, The Chris Berti Award for Excellence; Andrew Parker, The Graphic Design Best of Show Award; Hope Kirby, The Art Coop Award for Sustained Studio Excellence; Elva Hajialiakbarifini, The Arrowmont School of Arts and Crafts Scholarship Award; Saxon Burns and Ceselie Eagan, Melissa's Gift Comrades in Art Award; Robin Young, The David M. and Shirley A. Jones Student Award for Art and Design.

Purchase awards: Connor Altan (Monticello), Elyse Larsen (Champaign), Holly Lewis (Paxton), Kiah Thompson (Urbana), and Robin Young (Urbana).

Merit awards: Hayden Cseve (Gibson City), Roxanne Essafa (Urbana), Amelia Gonzalez (Champaign), Elva Hajialiakbarifini (Champaign), Lisa Hayens (Mahomet), Chris Johns (Champaign), Melissa Merli (Urbana), Israel Nguvu (Champaign), Nathan Potter (River Forest), Gretchen Raila (Champaign), Erin Rogers (Sadorus), Olaf Schwink (Longview), Charlotte Thompson (Rantoul), Michelle Thurber (Tuscola), and Fjasmine Yang (Mahomet). 

2023 Student Art Exhibitors (listed by hometown): Justin Ove and Tiya Patel (Arcola); Honoka Adachi, Emerson Aguiar Noronha, Isaac Benson, Joelle Busby, Calla Choi, Vein Coleman, Maria Cruz, Liam Dee, Truc Do, Ceselie Eagan, Colleen Freund, Joan Gary, Amelia Gonzalez, Elva Hajialiakbarifini, Brianna Hege, Crystal Hernandez, Emma Huang, Sherell Hughes, Chris Johns, Rashmi Kapoor, Dennis Kirby, Hope Kirby, Amanda Koebernik, Elyse Larsen, Oscar Lewis, Alicia Lorenzi, Anita Manandhar, Julie McCleery, Anne McIntyre, Laszlo Meredith, Saturn Moore, Sophie Morgan, Kenneth Neff, Israel Nguvu, John Nine, Autumn Owen, Andrew Parker, Eva Pearce-Shields, Jessica Phanrana, Gretchen Raila, Douceur Samu, Ethan Simpson-Palmer, John Pointer, Sara Taber, Nadage Tadjere, Lesly Vargas, Martha Willi, Daniel Yi, Albaraa Yousef (Champaign); Parker Hall (Chenoa); Ayesha Saddiqa (Chicago); Heather Graning, Chase Hasler (Farmer City); George Schneider (Fisher); Hayden Cseve (Gibson City); Olaf Schwink (Longview); Olivia Bresnahan, Reed Bullok, Lisa Haynes, Michaela May, Abigail McNamara, MacKenzie Petrick, Joshuah Schultz, Fjasmine Yang (Mahomet); Hannah Cole (Mansfield); Connor Altan, Haley Baker, Ethan Brown, Bill Helferich, Laurie Rumery (Monticello); Sara Stutz (Newman); Jaydon Rardin (Normal); Hunter Gustus (Orion); Holly Lewis (Paxton); Patricia Guthrie (Philo); Cassandra Sosa, Jennifer Tatar, Charlotte Thompson (Rantoul); Nathan Potter (River Forest); Erin Rogers (Sadorus); Cambden Blair, Hiroko Ito (Savoy); Beth Chasco, Heather Simmons (Seymour); Kami Anders, Jake Juday (St. Joseph); James Norton (Terre Haute); Tyler Garecht (Thawville); Michelle Thurber (Tuscola); Nur Al-Kodmany, Julie Birdwell, Saxon Burns, Ciaran Carr, Uyen Do, Roxanne Essafa, Morgan Frush, Hayden Hartley, Alison Hernandez, Kelly Hoene, Abigael Johnson, Karis Johnson, Stephen Kaufman, Emma Larson, Cassidy McQueen, Melissa Merli, Heather Poffenberger, Kayla Reifsteck, Sharon Wenda, Dai Shi, Carol Spindel, Kiah Thompson, Chloe White, Qilin Xie, Ruoheng Yang, Robin Young (Urbana); Sarah Brown, Christian Behrend, Kaylee-Ann Hopkins (Villa Grove); Alexander Meister (Westville).

Programs at the gallery are partially supported by a grant from the Illinois Arts Council, a state agency. All events in the accessible gallery are free and open to the public. Parkland College is a section 504/ADA-compliant institution. For accommodation, call 217/353-2082 or email Gallery hours are Monday-Wednesday, 10 a.m.-5 p.m., Thursday, 10 a.m.-7 p.m., and Saturday, 12-2 p.m.
For more information on Giertz Gallery, call the gallery office at 217/351-2485 or visit

Previous Article Parkland Horticulture Annual Greenhouse Plant Sale
Next Article CobraVenture Pitch Showcase 2023
1020 Rate this article: