# MINUTES OF SPECIAL MEETING OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF COMMUNITY COLLEGE DISTRICT #505 (Parkland College)

Counties of Champaign, Coles, Dewitt, Douglas, Edgar, Ford, Iroquois, Livingston, McLean, Moultrie, Piatt, Vermilion, and State of Illinois

### **April 27, 2021**

## **ROLL CALL**

The meeting was called to order by Bianca Green, Chairman, at 6:00 p.m. The meeting was held electronically via Zoom. At the direction of Chairman Green, Krystal Garrett, Assistant to the President/Board of Trustees, called the roll of members of the Board. The following Trustees were present: James Ayers, Mark Dixon, Timothy Johnson, Dana Trimble, and Victoire Mukumayi (Student Trustee). Also present were President Tom Ramage and representatives of the administration, faculty, staff, and public. Trustee Voyles was absent.

#### **CLOSED SESSION**

It was moved by Mr. Ayers and seconded by Mr. Trimble to go into Closed Session at 6:03 p.m. for the purpose of discussing the following topics:

The selection of a person to fill a public office, when the public body is given power to appoint under law or ordinance or the discipline, performance or removal of the occupant of a public office, when the public body is given power to remove the occupant under law or ordinance.

The motion carried by the following vote: AYES—Ayers, Dixon, Johnson, Trimble, Mukumayi (Advisory Vote), and Green; NAYS—None; ABSENT—Voyles

The open meeting resumed at 6:15 p.m.

#### **CLOSED SESSION AUDIO APPROVAL**

It was moved by Mr. Ayers and seconded by Mr. Trimble to approve the audio recording made of the Closed Session of April 27, 2021, and that the secretary of the Board make provisions for its safe keeping and that it be made available only upon the proper order of the court and a finding by a judge that such audio tape should be released, and that such audio recording will be destroyed 18 months after the date of the meeting if the Board has adopted written minutes of the Closed Session in question.

The motion carried by the following vote: AYES—Ayers, Dixon, Johnson, Trimble, Mukumayi (Advisory Vote), and Green; NAYS—None; ABSENT—Voyles.

## **ORGANIZATIONAL**

It was moved by Mr. Ayers and seconded by Victoire Mukumayi (Student Trustee) to select James Voyles to fill the trustee seat vacated by Jonathan Westfield on March 8, 2021. Mr. Voyles will be seated at the April 28, 2021 Board of Trustees Regular meeting, and will serve until the next election in April 2023.

The motion carried by the following vote: AYES—Ayers, Dixon, Johnson, Trimble, Mukumayi (Advisory Vote), and Green; NAYS—None; ABSENT—Voyles.

## **ADJOURNMENT**

There being no further business to come before the Board, it was moved by Mr. Johnson and seconded by Mr. Trimble for adjournment and voted AYE for by all trustees present and the meeting concluded at 6:19 p.m.

Bianca Green, Chairman	James Ayers, Secretary
Board of Trustees	Board of Trustees