MINUTES OF ORGANIZATIONAL MEETING OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF COMMUNITY COLLEGE DISTRICT #505 (Parkland College)

Counties of Champaign, Coles, Dewitt, Douglas, Edgar, Ford, Iroquois, Livingston, McLean, Moultrie, Piatt, Vermilion, and State of Illinois

April 28, 2021

ROLL CALL

The Organizational Meeting was called to order by Bianca Green, Chairman, at 7:00 p.m. The meeting was held electronically via Zoom. At the direction of Chairman Green, Krystal Garrett, Assistant to the President/Board of Trustees, called the roll of members of the Board. The following Trustees were present: James Ayers, Mark Dixon, Timothy Johnson, Dana Trimble, James Voyles, and Victoire Mukumayi (Student Trustee). Also present were President Thomas Ramage and representatives of the administration, faculty, staff, and public.

Roll Call was followed by the Pledge of Allegiance.

OFFICIAL ELECTION RESULTS APPROVAL

As required by law, the Champaign County Clerk has issued to Parkland College the official results of the election held on April 6, 2021. The Board of Trustees will vote to accept these results.

It was moved by Victoire Mukumayi and seconded by Mr. Ayers to approve the April 6, 2021 official election results received from the Champaign County Clerk for District #505 Board of Trustee positions.

The motion carried by the following vote: AYES—Ayers, Dixon, Johnson, Trimble, Voyles, Mukumayi (Advisory Vote), and Green; NAYS—None; ABSENT—None.

OATH OF OFFICE – TRUSTEES

The Oath of Office was administered by Chairman Green to Maureen Banks and Jarrett Clem as newly elected trustees serving six-year terms; Timothy Johnson as a re-elected trustee serving a two-year term; and James Voyles as an incumbent trustee appointed to the unexpired term, vacated by Jonathan Westfield on March 8, 2021, and serving until the next election in 2023.

Chair Green presented Mark Dixon and Victoire Mukumayi with plaques and thanked them for their service.

Trustee Dixon thanked the Board for his opportunity to serve this past year. He expressed his appreciation for Parkland and praised the way Parkland has managed the pandemic and challenges over this past year. He noted that serving as trustee has been a tremendous experience for him.

Victoire Mukumayi also thanked the Board for the experience of serving as student trustee this past year.

The Board expressed their appreciation to both outgoing trustees and thanked them for their service. Trustee. Dixon and Victoire Mukumayi adjourned the meeting.

<u>RESOLUTION/OATH OF OFFICE – STUDENT TRUSTEE</u>

Jayden Sortor, the newly elected student trustee, was absent this meeting and will be sworn in at the May meeting.

ELECTION OF OFFICERS

It was moved by Mr. Ayers and seconded by Mr. Johnson to elect the following officers of the Parkland Board:

- Bianca Green as Chairman
- James Voyles as Vice-Chairman

The motion carried by the following vote: AYES—Ayers, Johnson, Trimble, Voyles, and Green; NAYS—None; ABSENT—Dixon and Mukumayi.

It was moved by Mr. Voyles and seconded by Mr. Johnson to elect James Ayers as Secretary of the Parkland Board.

The motion carried by the following vote: AYES—Ayers, Johnson, Trimble, Voyles, and Green; NAYS—None; ABSENT—Dixon and Mukumayi.

These elected officers will serve for a one-year term.

ADJOURNMENT

The organizational meeting ended at 7:13 p.m., and it was moved by Mr. Trimble and seconded by Mr. Voyles for adjournment and voted AYE by all trustees present.

Bianca T. Green, Chairman Parkland Board of Trustees James Ayers, Secretary Parkland Board of Trustees