Home  :  News and Events  :  News Details  

Area Students Honored in Art, Design Exhibit

Students win Parkland Art and Design Exhibition 2015 awards, scholarships

Friday, April 24, 2015
The Giertz Gallery at Parkland College proudly announces the scholarship and award winners of its 2015 Art and Design Student Juried Exhibition, on display in the gallery through May 2.

This exhibition comprises student pieces produced in Parkland Art and Design classes within the last year, featuring Photography, Painting, Drawing, Metals, Sculpture, Three-Dimensional Design, Two-Dimensional Design, Color Theory, and Ceramics course work. Members of Parkland’s art faculty selected exhibit works from approximately 300 submissions. Students, faculty, and the public can see the strength and quality of the artwork chosen, demonstrating tenacity and commitment, and revealing the development of critical thinking and visual perception.

Accomplishments of these talented, dedicated, and hardworking students are evident by the works included in the exhibit. A reception honoring the participants was held on Thursday, April 16 from 6 to 8 p.m. During the celebration, students received a number of awards and art scholarships.

Scholarship recipients included Cole Cary of Monticello, who won the Underwood-Alger Art Scholarship; Neda Sroka of Savoy, who received the Don Lake Art Scholarship; Leila Ghasempor of Champaign, who won the Robert Ralph Ford Memorial Art Scholarship; and Kristin Marshall of Champaign, winner of the Arrowmont School of Arts and Crafts Scholarship.

Monetary awards included the Dr. David M. and Shirley A. Jones Student Art Award for work of outstanding artistic achievement, given to Jarrett Bender (Paxton); the Parkland President's Award, given to Yang Tai (Champaign); the Blair Kling Award, given to Ryland Snow (Gilman); the Fine & Applied Arts Chair Award for Excellence, given to Caitlin Sims (Champaign); the Art & Design Faculty Award, given to Rachel Stiles (Champaign); the Metals Award of Artistic Distinction, given to Renee Cooper (Urbana); the Art Coop Award, given to Jihee Lee (Champaign); and the Sidney Artists’ Guild Award in Memory of Lucy Seaman, awarded to William Smith (Champaign).
Purchase awards for artwork to be included in the Parkland College Permanent Collection went to: Leila Ghasempor (Champaign), Shania Sears (Mahomet), Benji Frazzetto (Champaign), Linda Jordan (Champaign), and Tiffany Ngo (Champaign).

Merit Awards for outstanding work went to the following students: Katherine Anderson (Savoy). Tiffany Belan (Champaign), William Campo (Urbana), Margarita Dmitrieva (Savoy), Pat Guthrie (Urbana), Melody Huang (Champaign), Jeri Lake (Champaign), Jihee Lee (Champaign), Karissa Marshall (Champaign), Stacey McCann (Champaign), Alex Mears (Le Roy), Tres Mercer (Rantoul), Elizabeth Otto (Urbana), Danielle Segerstrom (Le Roy) and Catherine White (Champaign).

The following is a full list of students with art in the juried exhibition, listed by hometown:

Buckley: Jessica Wyckoff
Champaign: Ray Arseneau, Tiffany Belan, Sonoma Board, Joan Campagnolo, Christine Childress, Amanda Danowitz, Jennifer Davis, Wendi Ding, Victor Feldman, Benji Frazzetto, Colleen Freund, Joan Gary, Leila Ghasempor, Eric Gillespie, Adrianne Herold, Melody Huang, Linda Jordan, Rashmi Kapoor, Bailee Kaufman, Jeri Lake, Jihee Lee, Sarah Lerch, Sean Lerch, Shane Lerch, Clare Margiotta, Karissa Marshall, Kristin Marshall, Stacey McCann, Tiffany Ngo, Eunsook Park, Angeliki Polymeri, Ruta Rauber, Brian Roberson, Brandon Satterfield, Connor Schneider, Sydney Shafer, Caitlin Sims, William Smith, Rachel Stiles, Yoonjung Sung, Yang Tai, Taylor Tatro, Niya VanEaton, James Wahl, Vicky Warf, Linda Weiner, Matthew Weldon, Scott Wells, Sharon Wenda, Marilyn Wendler, Catherine White, Eric Wildhagen, Colin Withers, Jiin You, and Isabel Young
Farmer City: John McKinley
Gifford: Judy Roberts
Gilman: Ryland Snow
Le Roy: Alex Mears and Danielle Segerstrom
Longview: Jennifer Vargo Hauser
Mahomet: Elisabeth Coffel, Daniel Crawford, Barbara Rusk, Shania Sears
Monticello: Cole Cary, Karen Deering, Nicholas Kammer, Angie Patrick, Harold Tindle
Paxton: Jarrett Bender
Rantoul: Alizabeth Morlock and Tres Mercer
Sadorus: Erin Rogers
Saint Joseph: Bethany Manalo and Jordan Wronke
Savoy: Katherine Anderson, Dalenna Diep, Margarita Dmitrieva, Hiroko Ito, Neda Sroka
Strawn: Robert Yoder
Thawville: Stefanie Betourne
Thomasboro: Sarah Calhoun
Tolono: Steven Johnson
Tuscola: Danielle Carter
Urbana: William Campo, Beena Chemmanchery, Michael Fuerst, Peter Garrett, Patricia Guthrie, Sara Huber, Lori Kendall, Margaret Livingston, Gabriel McElhaney, Elizabeth Otto, Jonathan Sands, Liddia Stevens, Jarrett Warner, Renee Cooper
Villa Grove: Sage Soper and Gabrielle Bragg

This program is partially supported by grant from the Illinois Arts Council, a state agency. For more information, call Lisa Costello, Parkland Art Gallery director, at 217/351-2485.

All events in the gallery are handicapped-accessible; events are free and open to the public. Gallery hours are Monday–Thursday, 10 a.m.–7 p.m.; and Saturday, noon–2 p.m. To find the gallery when classes are in session, we suggest using the M parking lots. Enter through any door and follow the ramps uphill to the highest point, where the gallery is located. The gallery windows overlook the outdoor fountain area. 

© Parkland College
2400 West Bradley Ave | Champaign, IL 61821 | 217.351.2200 | 888.467.6065
The Mission of Parkland College is to engage the community in learning.