Home  :  News and Events  :  Event Details  


Orchestra, Concert Band: A Musical Resurgence 2014

Sun, Oct 19, 2014 starting at 3:00 PM - 4:30 PM

Free concert with music by Brahams, Sheldon, Sousa, others 

“A Musical Resurgence 2014,” a joint concert by the Parkland College Orchestra and Parkland Concert Band, has been scheduled for Sunday, October 19 at 3 p.m. in the Parkland Theatre. The event is free and open to the public.

The Parkland College Orchestra, led by musical director Karen Ranney and guest conductor Jack Ranney, will perform a number of selections, including Resurgences, Opus 162 by Robert Sheldon; Variations on a Theme by Haydn by Johannes Brahams, arranged by John Whitney; and An American Rhapsody by Richard Meyer, among other pieces.

Parkland’s Concert Band, conducted by Larry Stoner, will perform Finale from The New World Symphony by Antonin Dvorák; In Memoriam by Mark Camphouse; and Three Revolutionary Marches by Bedrich Smetana, arranged by Vaclav Nelhybel, among other selections.

© Parkland College
2400 West Bradley Ave | Champaign, IL 61821 | 217.351.2200 | 888.467.6065
The Mission of Parkland College is to engage the community in learning.